Cobain Biopic in the works…of course Courtney wants control.

January 23, 2008 at 7:44 pm 1 comment

kurtcobain.jpg

It has been announced a new Kurt Cobain biopic has entered into pre-production. The film will based on Cobain’s biography Heavier than Heaven, written by Charles Cross. The book talks about the life and struggle of the troubled singer, until his untimely demise in 1994. Apparently Courtney Love has put in her two cents about who she believes should play Kurt and herself: Ryan Gosling and Scarlett Johansson. I could possibly see Gosling in this role, but Johansson is just a little too pretty to play a grunged-up, drug-user. I also think she just doesn’t have the acting chops. I think the best way for this film to be made is to sign on relatively unknown actors. It worked really well for the Joy-Division film, Control. I think if a big star was to play someone like Cobain, it would take away from the film and his character. I think I would be too distracted watching Ryan Gosling playing Kurt Cobain, because I would be just watching Ryan Gosling playing Kurt Cobain. I would be thinking too much about the Star and not the content of the film. I have yet to see Last Days directed by Gus Van Sant, which is “not about Kurt Cobain” even though it is about Kurt Cobain. Look at the cover of the movie, it is a Kurt Cobain movie. Anyways I think the film should stick to the no name actors and really focus on what the story is really about. Do not stuff it full of stars that are going to suffocate the story.

gus_van_sant_s_last_days.jpg

Check out who Rolling Stone thinks should play some of the other key roles in the new Kurt Cobain film.

Entry filed under: Movies, Music. Tags: , , , , , , .

The Oscar Nominations are in…. M.I.A…the new Queen of my IPod!

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. AZNirvana  |  January 23, 2008 at 9:08 pm

    I am looking forward to seeing this because i am a huge fan of Nirvana and such but I think its pretty terrible that Courtney is basically whoring out her dead husband for her own gain.

    RIP Kurt…..if you can.

    -AZN

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

