The Oscar Nominations are in….

January 23, 2008 at 6:10 pm 3 comments

r154636_556687.jpg

The 2007 Oscar Noms are in. Here are my picks for this year.

Best Picture: Atonement, Juno, Michael Clayton, No Country For Old Men, There Will Be Blood

I have seen all of these except for There Will Be Blood which I have heard is a great film. It’s a hard pick for me this year. I have to say Atonement was my least favorite out of lot, but I think it has the best chance at winning because it’s a very “Hollywood” movie. I think it would be the easiest pick. Juno is this year’s Little Miss Sunshine. The little movie that could. I think it has a good chance of winning, but I don’t think it will. Michael Clayton was one of my favorites of the year. Incredible performances from all the actors, but it won’t win. I can not praise No Country For Old Men enough. A great script, amazing performances, but it is not as audience friendly as Atonement. But The Departed won Best Picture last year, which was also a pretty brutal movie, so there could be some hope for No Country.

My Pick: No Country For Old Men

Who Will Win: Atonement

Actor in a Leading Role: George Clooney – Michael Clayton, Daniel Day-Lewis – There Will Be Blood, Johnny Depp – Sweeney Todd, Tommy Lee Jones – In The Valley of Elah, Viggo Mortensen – Eastern Promises

First off, I am very excited that Viggo Mortensen got a nomination because he gave an awesome performance in Eastern Promises, but once again the movie and the role are not very accessible, and the Oscars like accessible. I think George Clooney in Michael Clayton is probably his best performance ever, but I don’t think the movie received wide enough acclaim. I have yet to see In the Valley of Elah, so I don’t know about Tommy Lee’s performance, but once again I don’t think that movie has received enough acclaim. Johnny Depp, oh Johnny Depp. Nominated once again, but he will not win, because he is Johnny Depp and Johnny Depp never wins. Also I don’t think it was his strongest performance. I think that his performances are always strong, but there is always someone else nominated who is just that much stronger and beats him. Johnny Depp is everybody’s favorite loser. I have heard that Daniel Day-Lewis gave yet another amazing performance in There Will Be Blood. I think he should win because I want revenge for him not winning for The Gangs of New York and all the buzz has been about his performance.

My Pick: Daniel Day-Lewis

Who Will Win: Daniel Day-Lewis

Actress in a Leading Role: Cate Blanchett – Elizabeth: The Golden Age, Julie Christie – Away From Her, Marion Cotillard – Le Vie En Rose, Laura Linney – The Savages, Ellen Page – Juno

This is a hard one because I have only seen Juno. I am sure that Ellen Page is everybody’s favorite to win and I think she has a good chance to take home the Oscar, but I have heard many great things about Julie Christie and Marion Cotillard, and each of them took home a Golden Globe for their performances. Cate Blanchett and Laura Linney won’t win because Elizabeth apparently was a terrible film and there wasn’t enough talk or acclaim for Laura Linney’s role. Both are personal favorite actresses of mine, but it’s not their year for best actress.

My Pick: Ellen Page or Julie Christie

Who Will Win: Julie Christie

Actor in a Supporting Role: Casey Affleck – The Assassination of Jesse James, Javier Bardiem – No Country For Old Men, Phillip Seymour Hoffman – Charlie Wilson’s War, Hal Holbrook – Into the Wild, Tom Wilkinson – Michael Clayton

All I can say is Javier Bardiem has it in the bag. Casey Affleck and Tom Wilkinson were both great in their roles but Bardiem was better. I can’t say much for Hoffman and Holbrook because I have yet to see either of the other movies, but Hoffman won two years ago for Best Actor and this is the first I have heard of Hal Holbrook’s performance in Into the Wild. Javier Bardiem completely embodied his role as a crazy, psychotic killer with no soul. You hate him at the end of this film and you hate the fact that his character has not been stopped. The entire time watching the movie, every time he enters a room, I got a chill down my back because he was always about to do something terrible. Javier Bardiem has got it hands down.

My Pick – Javier Bardiem

Who Will Win: Javier Bardiem

Actress in a Supporting Role: Cate Blanchett – I’m Not There, Ruby Dee – American Gangster, Saoirse Ronan – Atonement, Amy Ryan – Gone Baby Gone, Tilda Swinton – Michael Clayton

I have seen all of these movies except for Gone Baby Gone, which I heard that Amy Ryan was really good but there were two performances that really stood out to me this year. Cate Blanchett as Jude Quinn in I’m Not There, I think is a highlight of her career. She was definitely the strongest actor in the entire movie. Though her character was “not” Bob Dylan, she was Bob Dylan. She had his mannerisms, personality, swagger and voice down to a tee. Cate Blanchett has amazing versatility and really shines in any role that she takes on. But the one actress I am really rooting for is Tilda Swinton. She was SO GOOD! SO GOOD! in Michael Clayton! It gave me chills she was so good. You could feel and understand every emotion that this woman was going through, throughout the entire movie. You can hear the words that running through her head at every moment. She was woman who was trying to evoke this strong almost steel like demeanor but underneath she is struggling so hard to keep things together, only to have things coming crashing down on her in the end. One of my absolute favorite performances of 2007. But I think that Cate Blanchett has a better chance of taking the Oscar home because she is more of a house-hold name and everybody loves a role where the actor has to completely transform themselves to play their character.

My Pick: Tilda Swinton

Who Will Win: Cate Blanchett

Best Director Julian Schnabel – The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, Jason Reitman – Juno, Tony Gilroy – Michael Clayton, Joel and Ethan Coen – No Country For Old Men, Paul Thomas Anderson – There Will Be Blood

I am really bad a deciding who best director is, because I don’t really understand the criteria of what makes a good director. I would really like for the Coen Brothers to win because they deserve it. I think that Jason Reitman has a good chance, but I think that Julian Schnabel by come from behind and take it. But I really can’t say.

My Pick: Joel and Ethan Coen

Who Will Win: Joel and Ethan Coen

Writing: Adapted Screenplay – Atonement, Away From Her, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly, No Country For Old Men, There Will Be Blood

My Pick: No Country For Old Men

Who Will Win: No Country For Old Men

Writing: Original Screenplay – Juno, Lars and the Real Girl, Michael Clayton, Ratatouille, The Savages

My Pick: Juno

Who Will Win: Juno

Entry filed under: Movies. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Neko Case to make guest appearance on Aqua Teen! Cobain Biopic in the works…of course Courtney wants control.

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rob  |  January 24, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Hey… nice post. Yeah, you’ve got to go see There Will Be Blood, you won’t regret it. As for your predictions, they’re very similar to mine, except for a few. I feel the Best Picture race is just so tight this year. I’m afraid that No Country and Blood might split some votes, which will lead the way for Juno… I’m still shocked that Atonement got nominated over Into the Wild and The Diving Bell and the Butterfly. Your pick for Atonement is justifiable though, because it really does feel like a film the Academy would choose to win. I’m gonna keep to my gut and go with No Country for Old Men… As for Best Actress, I feel it’s more a two-way race between Julie Christie and Marion Cotillard instead of Ellen Page. It was a guarantee that Page would be nominated, but as for winning the award it’s doubtful.

    Again, awesome post… lemme know what you think.

  • 2. The Final (Oscar) Turn « Cinema Vitæ  |  February 20, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    […] For this little exercise, I’ve chosen my classmate’s Oscar post which you can find here.  This may be a bit of an unfair choice because my blogpetitor wrote her post on January 23rd well […]

  • […] agree with all of his choices or his reviews on certain films, but damn I respect them. I have my choices for this year, and we have agreed on some of the […]

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

