M.I.A…the new Queen of my IPod!

January 30, 2008 at 2:56 am 3 comments

mia-kala.jpg

M.I.A has taken over my IPod in last few weeks. I had heard her song “Paper Planes” a few months ago and thought it was an awesome song, so I decided to check out her album Kala. I put it onto my IPod and for the first little while I listened to the first song or two, then switched to something else. But within the last month or so, I can not stop listening to M.I.A. Kala has a really great dancehall, kind of funk, groovy thing going on. Can’t quite explain it, but it’s original and it’s good.
For those of you who do not know about M.I.A I will give you a little bit a background:

M.I.A. was born Mathangi “Maya” Arulpragasam in Hounslow, London, England. Shortly after she was born, her family moved back to Sri Lanka. Her father was activist turned militant who helped found a militant group, The Eelam Revolutionary Organization of Students (EROS). For most of her life she never saw her father because he had to go into hiding from the Sri Lankan army. She moved many times because of the ethnic conflict in Sri Lanka, eventually moving back to London, where she and her family lived as refugees. M.I.A. began listening to the radio where her interest in hip-hip and rap began. Her early influences included N.W.A, Big Daddy Cane and Public Enemy. She also attended art school which inspired a love for painting, visual art and film. The rest is pretty much history from there.

M.I.A has had two albums, Arluar and Kala, named after each of her parent, both integrating several genres of music. Alternative, hip-hop, reggae, dancehall, electronic, and funk can all be found, also a heavy influence of her Sri Lankan background. Many of her lyrics deal with global and political issues, such as war, guerilla warfare, the difference between 1st and 3rd world countries, capitalism and money. M.I.A. has toured with Peaches, Gwen Stefani, and Bjork and has worked with the likes of Timbaland and Missy Elliot.

Rolling Stone and Blender magazines named Kala the best album of 2007 and I would have to agree. I don’t think M.I.A is not exactly everybody’s cup of tea, but she is pretty damn unique with her mix of musical genres and some of the heavier topics that she writes about in her lyrics. She looks, sounds, acts different than any female artist I have seen in a while. It was unfortunate that I missed her shows while she was in Vancouver. I heard they were insane! She is definitely one of my favorite new artists, and I am very excited to see what she comes up with next.

Check out her video for “Boyz.”

Entry filed under: Music. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Cobain Biopic in the works…of course Courtney wants control. Rome is awesome!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ty  |  August 10, 2008 at 5:47 pm

    Go look up
    LTTE
    Its a terrorist group that M.I.A actually supports.

    Anyway, If you look around a bit and read the lyrics of her songs you may actually see you are listening to a supporter of terrorism.
    Anyway, the music is pretty catchy, but i still dislike her supporting of terrorism.

  • 2. BoOg  |  August 30, 2008 at 12:44 am

    Great post. I am in agreement completely. I never knew Arular and Kala were her parents names tho. Diggin it in NYC.

  • 3. LaRissa  |  September 30, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    M.I.A is definitely my cup of tea. I haven’t purchased a cd yet, and I stressed yet because I just added her to my list of cds to purchase and I can’t wait. I first heard M.I.A on MTV. It was like a small introductory commercial for them and I was like, hmmm… she’s interesting and different, the song was Bird Flu, which I thought was strange but I liked it. I remember having it as my ringtone for a short while and all my friends were like WTF!!!!! I told them who it was and of course they didn’t have a clue. When I first heard Paper Planes it was on the preview for the movie Pineapple Express. I didn’t know the name of the song but I loved the beat. I could only hear a few words to the song on the preview but I recognized the voice. What’s really funny is that the guy I was with, I told him that song was going to be a hit and he was like, “whatever man”. Anyway, I have fallin’ in love with her music and like I said, I WILL purchase those cds on my next payday and like I said, I CAN’T WAIT. I appreciate artist like her because she’s different, her sound is different, and her style is different. Thanks M.I.A for being different and bringing a great vibe to the music world. I will always be a fan:)

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

January 2008
M T W T F S S
    Feb »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

