Bumbershoot – Seattle, Labor Day Weekend

February 6, 2008 at 11:25 pm 3 comments

homelink.jpg

Bum-ber-shoot: An umbrella

The Bumbershoot festival is an arts and performance festival that has been taking place in Seattle Centre for the past 37 Years. The name Bumbershoot was chosen for the festival because it refers to the large umbrella of performers and artists that make up the festival. The festival focuses on offering a diverse line-up of musicians, artists, performers, not just in music but film, theatre, comedy, visual art, dance and literature. Since 1980, One Reel, a non-profit arts organization has been producing the festival and is still going strong.

n333200008_218348_7964.jpg

I attended Bumbershoot last Labor Day weekend and I had a blast. 3 days was just enough to get my fill of music and the arts and left me with just enough energy to make the drive back home to Vancouver. Attending the festival also allowed me to see more of Seattle, which is a great city. The line-up for the festival ranged from world, to hip-hop, pop, rock, indies, majors, gypsies, metal. Got a little taste of everything. The line-up included: The Shins, Wu-Tang Clan, Panic! At The Disco, Crowded House, Lupe Fiasco, Fergie, Steve Earle, DeVotchKa, Devendra Banhart, Gogol Bordello, The Avett Brothers, Magnolia Electric Company, The Aggrolites, Menomena, Tokyo Police Club, Art Brut and many more.

I watched the Shins set which was awesome. They did a cover of Pink Floyd’s “Hey You” or “Comfortably Numb.” I can’t remember. If anyone was there and remembers can you let me know? But I remember it was really good. They had great energy, and got the crowd going.

I saw one band that I had never heard of, but they turned out to be one of my favorite of the festival: Menomena. They are a band from Portland, Oregon and they had a choir! A choir! It was awesome! And the lead singer also played the baritone saxophone. It was crazy. They were really engaging and interesting. Something I hadn’t heard before. Check them out if you get the chance.

My absolute favorite show of the festival was Gogol Bordello. If you do not know who this band is, you must download; purchase; stream; YouTube them as soon as you can. Their albums do not do them justice at all. They are one of those bands that are known for their live show and believe it is a show. Gogol Bordello is this Gypsy Punk band from New York. 10 people make up the band, one of them being their lead singer, Eugene Hutz from Ukraine. He is one crazy MF! Their set went on forever and I never wanted it to stop. It was so high-energy and after it was over I was exhausted but was left wanting more!

I also saw part of the Crowded House set, Art Brut, Joss Stone, and John Legend. I checked some of the comedy shows which were great and some of the art exhibitions, including an exhibition dedicated to Nick Drake and the Flatstock Poster Show.

n333200008_218338_5372.jpg

Tickets were a good deal. You can purchase them just for one of the days or all three days. You can also get a premium pass for a bit more which gets you VIP access to some of the performances. So if you are looking for one last hurrah before you have to go back to school or want something fun to do for Labor Day weekend, I highly suggest hitting up Bumbershoot in Seattle.

They will be announcing their 2008 line-up soon! So stay tuned in. They have RSS or you can join their mailing list. Check it out! www.bumbershoot.org

Entry filed under: Festivals, Music. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

FESTIVALS, FESTIVALS, FESTIVALS! South by Southwest – Austin, Texas March 7-16

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. buy beats  |  February 7, 2008 at 3:03 am

    That event is gonna rock!

  • 2. Briana  |  February 24, 2008 at 1:43 am

    Hi there! I’ve been looking for a copy of the program of 2007 bumbershoot – heck, even just a scan. My photo was published in it and I would love to get a copy of it for my resume. If you know of where I can find one, please let me know. Thank you so much!

  • 3. Alicia  |  March 31, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    As every year Seattle, Washington is receiving the annual important event. It’s Bumbershoot Festival which is one of the highly attended festivals. I’m planning to attend but I was wondering if I could get a ticket or if I can afford that stupid prices. But a friend has recommended me a site to compare ticket prices before purchasing. I’ll try to look for the cheapest tickets.
    http://www.ticketwood.com/concerts/Bumbershoot-Music-and-Arts-Festival-Tickets/index.php
    Tickets
    I do love festivals and entertainment and I like thriftiness too because my purse is thin and can’t afford some prices.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  

